Saying Goodbye With Intention

Dog Days of Summer

Today is a sad day.  After a lachrymose two months, I made the difficult decision to euthanize my dog Maddy.  The osteosarcoma in her hind leg became overbearing for the rest of her body and her ability to thrive was gone.

She became an affectionate dog in her old age and possessed insatiable wanderlust.  Her desire for adventure was as strong as her will to live.  I longed for the energetic pep she had a few years ago while chasing squirrels.

My Inspiration

My inspiration for this blog was partly due to her.  With the loss of my grandma and Maddy’s diagnosis back in June, I hit a new low in my life.  Everything else seemed so trivial.  Rather than sulk, I decided to be proactive and make challenges for myself.  Exercising and setting goals helped alleviate some of the stress.  The day my grandma passed away, I ran six miles just to clear my mind.

What’s Your Intention?

I began practicing yoga again to help with the depression.  Yogis often ask you to set an intention or dedication for your practice and mine has been for Maddy.

My message is simply this, set an intention no matter what the activity is.  I’m sure many people do this but it’s a friendly reminder.

Goodbye

It’s not easy being a pet-owner.  They often see you through some of the toughest times in your life.  She could be a nuisance at times, but she gave me a purpose, a responsibility and I miss her.

I dedicate my next challenge to Maddy at the Champaign (IL) Park District’s Mini-Tri this weekend.

htc photos 543

Winter

htc photos 2156

Spring

Maddy through the Seasons

Summer

htc photos 2148

Fall

2 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye With Intention

  1. anna says:

    She was a spirited soul. The best that I can hope for is that I will allow the memories of the good, and sweet and happy times that we shared to be the memories that are forefront in my mind when I think back about our time together.

  2. marina says:

    Mad Madson- she was such a strong dog. Every dog that passes through our lives add so much value, unconditional love and companionship. Maddie was all of those and I am sure she is out there playing with all the friends that have passed.

Leave a Reply

