Shaking Off the Cold

A few months too late, but a transient heat wave awakened this dormant bug from a wicked winter.  However, I wasn’t totally dormant.  It can be extremely difficult turning over a new leaf when your under 6 feet of snow.  Shortly after the New Year, I signed up for a Thinner Winner Contest through the Fall River Recreation Department, with bootcamp classes twice a week and all-inclusive access to the pool and weight room for eight weeks. 

I have to admit, it kick started my butt into high gear by motivating me to go on a 3 day juice cleanse/detox and I lost 4 pounds within the first week.  Unfortunately, I trailed off but stuck through the exercise classes.  Not only did I participate in the contest, I ran the treadmill, did yoga and pilates and went for an occasional swim. 

In the end, I didn’t lose a shocking amount of weight … 7 pounds to be exact, but it was better than nothing.  I’m happy for those that lost more, they worked hard for it. 

Thanks Kaleb and Brad at the Fall River Rec for pushing me through this harsh winter!

Goals for this spring and summer, train for a sprint triathlon and maybe lose another 7 pounds by the start of summer.  

Leave a Reply

